The Garrett Newton Band Releases New Single “Take Me Home To Momma” from Upcoming ‘Bluegrass Barn’ Available September 13

By September 3, 2019 March 2nd, 2020 Garrett Newton

The Garrett Newton Band Releases New Single “Take Me Home To Momma” from Upcoming ‘Bluegrass Barn’ Available September 13

The Garrett Newton Band is excited to unveil their brand new single, “Take Me Home To Momma.” The thought-provoking track will serve as the second official single from the group’s upcoming album, Bluegrass Barn, which is available on September 13. Fans can download and stream the new single HERE, where they can also pre-order the anticipated sophomore collection released via Pinecastle Records.

“After the success of my first project with ‘Country Poor & Country Proud’ charting, I’m excited to see if we have a song that can hit the charts from this second project,” says Garrett Newton. “Everyone did a great job and I am proud of how the new CD sounds – keeping it traditional from a young hearts perspective.”

“Take Me Home to Momma” tells a heartbreaking story, which was perfectly captured by songwriters Rick Pardue, Tim Massey and Dan Wells. It details a journey of returning home to see a Mother, who is on the verge of passing away. With chorus lyrics saying “please take me home to Momma, I need to see her bad / she’s all that I’ve got left, since we lost Dad,” it details an emotional journey trying to make it back as soon as possible. Performing lead vocals on the track is band member Allen Dyer, whose voice soars on the banjo-driven tune.

Led by world-class banjo prodigy Garrett Newton, the full Bluegrass Barn project includes 12 new recordings. Included is the lead single title-track, which was written by SPBGMA “Female Vocalist of the Year” winner Lorraine Jordan. Another standout is the band’s unique take on “The Boys are Back in Town.” Originally released in 1976 by Rock group Thin Lizzy, where it went on to become a world-wide anthem. The full collection features a combination of slower ballads, and hard-hitting traditional barn burners.

Throughout the project, The Garrett Newton Band’s musicianship is on full display, with members Garrett Newton (banjo/vocals), Allen Dyer (guitar/vocals), Daniel Aldridge (mandolin/vocals), Parks Icenhour (lead guitar/vocals), Chris Hill (fiddle), Lorraine Jordan (vocals) and Dale Perry (acoustic bass) each shining from start to finish. Bluegrass Barn was recorded at Old Stage Recording Studio in Garner, North Carolina. It serves as the follow-up to the 2017 debut album Young Heart, Old Soul.

To keep up with all things The Garrett Newton Band, visit the band’s official website While there, fans can find upcoming tour dates, latest news stories, plus purchase a physical copy of Bluegrass Barn, prior to its release.

Bluegrass Barn Track Listing:
1. Take Me Home To Momma
2. Bluegrass Barn
3. Charlotte Breakdown
4. You Don’t Have To Be A Baby To Cry
5. Back To Hancock County
6. Let The Church Roll On
7. Daybreak in Dixie
8. Family Graveyard
9. No More Painting Up This Town
10. Tennessee
11. The Boys Are Back In Town
12. Leaning On The Everlasting Arms

# # #