Scott Vestal’s ‘Bluegrass 2022’ Is Officially Out Now Featuring All-Star Lineup of Cody Kilby, Byron House, Tim Crouch, Randy Kohrs and Jonah Horton

Vestal Advances to Second Round IBMA Ballot in Five Categories

Nashville, Tenn. – The wait is finally over as the Scott Vestal led Bluegrass 2022 collaboration project is officially available today! Released via Pinecastle Records, it’s the follow-up to last year’s “Album of the Year” finalist at the IBMA Awards (Bluegrass 2020). Joining the reigning “Banjo Player of the Year” on the album are world-class musicians Cody Kilby (The Travelin’ McCourys) on guitar, Byron House (Sam Bush/Robert Plant) playing bass, Tim Crouch (Dolly Parton) performing fiddle, Randy Kohrs (Tom T. Hall) on resophonic guitar and Jonah Horton (The Trailblazers) pickin’ the mandolin. Featuring 10 new recordings, the full collection is available for purchase, streaming and download HERE.

The lead single from Bluegrass 2022 came in the form of “EMD,” written by David Grisman. Since its release in January, it went on to spend several weeks charting on the Bluegrass Today Weekly Airplay Chart. The latest single is the tune, “Welcome To New York.” The hard-driving track was written by Bill Emerson alongside Doyle Lawson, and that inspiration is on full display throughout. Other standouts from the project include a tribute to Bill Monroe, which takes an interesting approach to his song “Gold Rush.” Another album highlight is the closer “Train 45,” which is a traditional cut that will take listeners on a wild ride, in the best way possible.

When the popular series first launched in the mid-90s with Bluegrass ‘95, it was met with high praise, even taking home the coveted IBMA award for “Recorded Event of the Year.” After taking a 19-year hiatus, it was revived in 2020, reigniting the concept of featuring the instrumentalists who are currently doing active sessions with Vestal at his studio Digital Underground, located outside of Nashville. By incorporating these elements, it helps to create a musical experience for listeners that is memorable and different, while also staying fresh with the latest trends.

Vestal recently advanced onto the second round of multiple IBMA award categories. In addition to “Instrumental Group of the Year,” the all-star Bluegrass 2022 lineup are in the running for “Collaborative Recording of the Year” and “Instrumental Recording of the Year” for the lead single “EMD.” Additionally, Vestal moves forward in the “Banjo Player of the Year” category, which he’s won the last two years. Finally, the previous single “Vanleer” from Bluegrass 2020 is also recognized for “Instrumental Recording of the Year,” following significant chart success throughout the last year.

Bluegrass 2022 Track Listing:
1. John Hardy (Traditional)
2. EMD (written by David Grisman)
3. Gold Rush (written by Bill Monroe)
4. Reuben (Traditional)
5. Blackberry Blossom (Traditional)
6. Welcome To New York (written by Bill Emerson, Doyle Lawson)
7. Tipper (written by Anthony David Rice)
8. Steam Powered Aereo Plane (written by John Hartford)
9. Lonesome Fiddle Blues (written by Vassar Clements)
10. Train 45 (Traditional)

# # #