Scott Vestal Led ‘Bluegrass 2020’ Announces “By Stealth” as Next Single From Critically-Acclaimed Album

By January 12, 2021 January 13th, 2021 Scott Vestal

Nashville, Tenn. – With last year marking the 25th anniversary of the popular award-winning Bluegrass ’95 project series (which originally ran through 2001), Scott Vestal assembled a stacked lineup of artists who came together for the critically-acclaimed Bluegrass 2020 album. In addition to the reigning IBMA “Banjo Player of the Year” winner, joining Vestal is Patrick McAvinue (Dailey & Vincent), Cody Kilby (The Travelin’ McCourys), Dominick Leslie (Hawktail) and Curtis Vestal. The artists are pleased to announce the next single from the album, “By Stealth.”

“By Stealth” is an upbeat instrumental recording which showcases each participant’s individual approach to the tune. The song came to life after being written by Scott Vestal, who delivered on this fast-paced recording. The track may sound familiar to some Bluegrass enthusiasts, as it was originally released in the early 00s on Rebel Records’ Knee Deep in Bluegrass: The AcuTab Sessions project, which won the 2001 IBMA Award for “Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year.” The 2020 version stays true to the original, but with a different and more modern approach to its production.

The album also includes the lead single “Five & Dime.” Since its release in the spring of 2020, the track went on to spend countless weeks charting on Bluegrass Today’s Weekly Airplay Chart. Written by Patrick McAvinue, the tune is a fast-paced fiddle-driven song which showcases each member’s world-class musicianship. To highlight another angle of Bluegrass 2020The Bluegrass Situation gave fans an exclusive first-listen of the cut “Vanleer” (check it out HERE).

In total, Bluegrass 2020 has 10 new recordings. In an effort to stay true to the theme of the original series, the project features the most current styles and inspirations which go into modern Bluegrass, while also staying true to the signature sound dating back to the 90s. In addition to all-new material, also featured on the record are fresh takes on tracks made famous by Bluegrass legends Bill Monroe and Earl Scruggs. On the newer side, multiple songs were penned by Bluegrass 2020 members Scott Vestal and Patrick McAvinue, plus a very special recording written by Moon Mullican.

The series first turned heads with Bluegrass ‘95, which was highly praised and even won the IBMA award for “Recorded Event of the Year.” The concept is that each year’s release represents who Vestal was doing active sessions with. It was that inspiration and connectivity that made it possible for them to make memorable recordings. Bringing in Patrick McAvinue, Cody Kilby, Dominick Leslie, and brother Curtis Vestal is no coincidence. They are all often recording at Vestal’s Digital Underground studio outside of Nashville.

# # #